How to Render JSON data as OBJECT list NOT Array list

How to Render JSON data as OBJECT list NOT Array list

bhekstabheksta Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited July 2014 in Free community support
  • File: jquery.dataTables.min.js
  • Version: 1.9.4

I have followed all example of AJAX source data in the online documentation BUT no luck

I have this JSON data format that I need to render as DataTable..

BUT then I get this error:
DataTables warning (table id = 'xxxxx'): Requested unknown parameter '0' from the data source for row 0

{"data":[{"Date":"2014-07-03 ","TotalPaidOk":"937","Total1stBilled":"939","TotalPending":"0","TotalFree":"1","TotalNoFunds":"2","TotalSysErrors":"0","TotalObs":"0","TotalObsSuccess":"0","TotalObsSuccessRands":".000000","DisplaySequence":1},{"Date":"2014-07-02 ","TotalPaidOk":"4297","Total1stBilled":"13334","TotalPending":"1","TotalFree":"2","TotalNoFunds":"10490","TotalSysErrors":"611","TotalObs":"37698","TotalObsSuccess":"5054","TotalObsSuccessRands":"10108.000000","DisplaySequence":2}....]}

BUT this JSON format it does render it well

{"data":[["2014-07-03 ","937","939","0","1","2","0","0","0",".000000",1],["2014-07-02 ","4297","13334","1","2","10490","611","37698","5054","10108.000000",2],["2014-07-01 ","9482","13363","1","2","10449","641","47238","10468","20936.000000",2] ....]}
                   /*begin*/
                        
                        $('#testTable').dataTable( {
                           "aaData":data.data,
                           "sPaginationType": "bootstrap",
                           "bSort": false,
                           //"sScrollY": "600px",
                           //"bPaginate": false,
                           "oLanguage": {
                                "sLengthMenu": "_MENU_ records per page"
                           },
                            "aoColumns": [
                                {"bSortable": true, "asSorting": [ "desc" ] , "sWidth":"100px", "sTitle":"Date", "data":"Date"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# Fully Paid", "data":"TotalPaidOk"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# 1st Billed", "data":"Total1stBilled"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# Pending", "data":"TotalPending"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# Free", "data":"TotalFree"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# No Funds", "data":"TotalNoFunds"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# Sys Errors", "data":"TotalSysErrors"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# Obs", "data":"TotalObs"},
                                {"bSortable": true, "sTitle":"# Obs Success", "data":"TotalObsSuccess"},                               
                                {"bSortable": true, "bSortable": true, "sTitle":"Obs Success (ZAR)"
                                , "data":"TotalObsSuccessRands", "sType":"currency"                            
                                },
                                {"bSortable": true, "asSorting": [ "asc", "desc" ] , "sTitle":"Sequence", "data":"DisplaySequence"},
                            ],
                            
                            "aoColumnDefs": [
                            { "aDataSort": [ 10 ], "aTargets": [ 10 ] },
                           
                                {                                                
                                    "mRender": function ( data, type, row) {
                                             var mValue = parseFloat(0.00);
                                             mValue = parseFloat( data );
                                             if ( mValue > 0 ) {
                                               //mValue = Math.round(mValue);                                              
                                               return 'R' + mValue.toFixed(2);
                                             }else
                                              return '-'
                                                                           
                                             return 'R' + data;
                                    },
                                    "aTargets": [9]
                                },
                                {"bVisible": false,  "aTargets": [ 10 ] }
                            ]

                        } );
                        
                        /*end*/

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

  • DaimianDaimian Posts: 62Questions: 1Answers: 15

    My knowledge of 1.9.4 is a bit rusty... But I think your issue is with the mRender. Try removing it. If it works then I would try adding the mRender to the aoColumns section for the column it is needed.

  • bhekstabheksta Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited July 2014

    Even before mRender - it never worked...
    it only accepts JSON array dat NOT JSON objects

    I added "mRender" way long after all my tries to display JSON objects data list have falied.
    It throws this error:
    " DataTables warning (table id = 'xxxxx'): Requested unknown parameter '0' from the data source for row 0 "

    BUT if I return JSON data as array ({"data":[{0:"Testing", 1:"PHP"},{....}]}) - it works fine

    this fails :
    {"data":[{"topic":"Testing", "Subject":"PHP"},{....}]}

    -- what is it that it does like about named JSON objects

  • DaimianDaimian Posts: 62Questions: 1Answers: 15
    Answer ✓

    Try changing data to mData.

    I was digging through my old Datatables pages and one of my 1.9.4 pages used mData.

  • bhekstabheksta Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0

    Thank you ! Thank You ! Daimian
    mData is exactly what it required.

  • allanallan Posts: 63,498Questions: 1Answers: 10,471 Site admin

    Yup - the camelCase notation was introduced in 1.10, which the currency documentation reflects.

    If you need to use the old version of the library the legacy documentation is still available (although I would obviously recommend upgrading).

    Allan

  • bhekstabheksta Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0

    Hi Allan

    On change event of select input > I want to repopiulated my table with new data based on the selected value from the drop-down:

    HTML

    ** It olny works for the first time if you select the value from dropdown

    BUT this doesnt seem to work
    $('#myTableId').dataTable().fnClearTable();

    How should I do it ?

  • allanallan Posts: 63,498Questions: 1Answers: 10,471 Site admin

    Please link to a test case showing the issue so we can debug it.

    Allan

  • bhekstabheksta Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited July 2014

    I have this HTML :

                                      <<select id="selectError" class="form-control" data-rel="chosen">
                                        <option>Option 1</option>
                                        <option>Option 2</option>
                                        <option>Option 3</option>
                                        <option>Option 4</option>
                                        <option>Option 5</option>
                                      </select>
    
    
                            <table id="mytable" class="table table-striped table-bordered bootstrap-datatable">
    
                          </table>            
                        </div>
    

    i have this " <<" ..so it wont create html on this pot >>
    JS:

    $('#selectErrorl').change( function() {
    var selectedVal = '';

            //alert( $('#mytable').text().length ); -- my way of check if there is html content
    
            if ( parseInt( $('#mytable').text().length ) > 18 ){
                //$('#mytable').dataTable().fnClearTable(); --doesnt work
                $('#mytable').dataTable().fnDestroy();  - works         
            }       
    
            selectedVal = $(this).val();
    
            if (selectedVal != '' )   
                fnStatsSubsBilledReport( selectedVal, '' ); 
    });
    
This discussion has been closed.